Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: lapua brass prep.

lapua brass prep.

Had an impulse buy at Cabelas today. The results, two boxes of Lapua 308 brass. Kind of regret it, but hey its on the reloading bench now. I'm just getting into the rifle stuff. Whats the SOP of processing this stuff? Should I go to workup mode? Should this be fire formed first? What's the SOP for fire forming for precision loads? My plan is to try some Hornady SST so I can target shoot and maybe hunt too? Or should I do two loads one paper and one hunting? I don't have delusions of sniper gradure. Just want to see what this rifle can do and hone my shooting and reloading skills. I'm excited about this but a little intimidated and slightly lost. thank J-Rod Please don't bust my chops about the purchase..I know, I know

Ive only played with lapua brass a very little, would size like normal and work it like a regular load. Different bullets is not a bad thing, just will need to work up some loads...Oh well the fun of this game.

not much help, but also check weights/h20 capacity. As i remember them being different then commercial brass.

Lapua is made in the Lake City plant and is the finest brass money can buy, but it isn't perfect, but can be with a little work.
    Also as mustang said, being it's slightly thicker, capacity is slightly less. So start slightly lower than normal with charges.
    I picked up some also and here is what I did to mine.

Full length sized it.
    Trimmed to length and chamferred.
    Deburred the flash holes.
    Uniformed the primer pockets.
    Now it is perfect brass.

I havent loaded it up yet, but getting close, just been shooting up some various stuff and test rounds.
    I will probably load it first with some bulk match bullets, fire form it and then load it with smk's or berger vld's for paper shooting.

www.seattleguns.net

Careful man, there's a beverage here!